The Prettiest Sight

I have seen the world through open eyes

And I once loved with my whole heart.

I lost with open arms,

And ran to a place I thought tears couldn’t find me.

 

I have tried to change my ways,

But I lost patience

And I lost faith.

I’m not a wanderer by birth, but I played a losing game,

And lost all my joy for the chase.

 

I hope you found your wings

And won that freedom you would always talk about.

I’ve had my fair share.

I’ve found that it’s true; there’s no price greater than regret.

 

Now I’ve changed my ways

And I’m back in town for the first time today.

I’ve seen familiar faces and I’ve felt familiar pain.

Here I ran from raised voices and cried alone,

And here I danced in the rain and loved through the night.

 

I’ve searched so long and lost my way,

But I’ve landed in a place I may just call home.

 

I’ve tried to change my ways,

But I lost patience

And I lost faith.

I’ll come home with tired eyes.

I’ve seen the world but I’ve never seen a prettier sight.

 

My first “work” out there to the public! D:

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment