Review: Winter by Marissa Meyer

Context: I picked up The Lunar Chronicles right after Scarlet was published. My journal entry for Cinder says “I honestly don’t know what to say here. It was predictable and I didn’t like it, but it was so creative that I want to read the rest of the series just for the world building.” Anddd then I read Scarlet (yes, I really wrote this. I am not proud of it); “so much BETTER THAN CINDER. Cinder was basically just setting up the series, which I disapprove of, but it’s better than all of the books being horrible.” Hear that Ms. Meyer? 15 year old me disapproved of your creative choices. *tsk tsk* Finally Cress came out and apparently I had officially warmed up to the series: “Maintained the characters/voice/pacing of Scarlet. Really well done, I want the next one! Ah!” Mostly I was just in love with Carswell Thorne. Still am.

Winter 3 (2)

Positives I was incredibly hyped to read this book, and it did not let me down. It was well written (as in line by line. We’ll get to the plot in a minute) and entertaining. I struggled through finals week, reading every spare second I could muster. Every time I picked the book up, it was a struggle to put down. (My mom read it in like one sitting, btw. I feel like that’s important 😉 ) The dialogue was witty and completely lived up to the standards I have come to expect from Ms. Meyer.

Negatives: *sigh* I just cannot wrap my head around the plot. Like how many times can everyone almost die but everything end up totally fine??? To begin with, the book was way too long. (I don’t have a problem with long books, but in relation to the rest of the series, that’s a red flag to me), which made the pacing a little tedious. I attribute the length of the book to the number of protagonists and perspectives, but I don’t think that’s an excuse.

For the most part, I really enjoy the characters in this series, but I really do not Thorne and Cress together. I love them both individually and I thought it was so precious when Thorne was all protective of her and she had such a huge crush on him, but for some reason it turned really weird really fast for me. I think it’s because I picture Cress as younger than she actually is (I mean, I don’t think sixteen is old enough anyway, BUT) because she lacks so much worldly experience. And can I just rage for a moment about how every protag. in this series has a love interest FALL IN THEIR LAP?? In my opinion, that is so sexualizing, because it implies that in order for a character’s developmental arc to be complete, they have to have a sexual partner. NO. THAT IS SO MANY COLORS OF NOT OKAY WITH ME.

Summary: *deep breath* It may be kind of hard to believe at this point, but I actually did enjoy this book, and The Lunar Chronicles as a whole. It’s a great pleasure read, it just isn’t particularly stimulating.

In other news, my review of Youth went up today, since the movie was released to theaters, if you want to read something more positive 😉

http://scaddistrict.com/2015/12/04/youth-explores-the-inevitable/

xx. Shelby Jo

Leave a Reply

