Motivation

Can we talk about motivation for a sec? Because I’m an extremely hard working person. Give me a task, and I will complete to the best of my ability absolutely as soon as possible. I used to think that was the same as being motivated, but it turns out that’s not true.

No matter how much effort I put into my job, or homework, or whatever, I am no closer to my goals. I have spent so much time doing the things I was told were important, that I no longer have time for the things I think are important. I rarely write, and read maybe an hour a week. No matter how many reminders I set, or distractions I eliminate, I just can’t bring myself to do the thing!

It’s so bad, that the only way I could motivate myself to write a blog post WAS TO WRITE ABOUT NOT WANTING TO WRITE A  BLOG POST. And I see the problem with that, and I despise myself for reaching this point, but I just don’t know what to do. I don’t know how to reward myself for a job well done, or how to set consequences for the things I fail to complete. It’s not even procrastination or laziness anymore. I just don’t know how to make these things enjoyable, or successful. Writing, blogging, reading, and research seem like a waste of time compared to “important” things like the computer art project due Monday, or writing as many volunteer articles for the newspaper as possible in hopes of getting a paying job as soon as one is available.

This is one of the reasons I’m trying to get back into blogging, but it’s also something I know I will be fighting with for a while to come (note my word count for the week – the first week ever on this project). Comment or message me if you have any tips, or stories, or if you ever struggle with motivation. We can cry and be unproductive together.

#Rhanforyolife

Weekly Goal: 5,000

Weekly Word Count: 3,202

Total Word Count: 3,202

XX. Shelby Jo

Leave a Reply

