January Reading Summary

I read four books in January, which is a little fewer than I would have liked, but is also a good start to the year. If I read four books every month, I’ll meet my goal for the year. Again, I am only counting books I have never read before, so no re-reads or school assignments (though there may be exceptions at some point).

#1 – X by Ilyasah Shabazz – This novel is a fictionalized account of Malcom X’s childhood. I don’t know a lot of the history behind the book, so I can’t vouch for its accuracy, but it was very well written, and the narrative was compelling.

#2 – Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch – This is the second book in the Gentlemen Bastards series, which follows a group of con artists in a gritty fantasy world. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and love Lynch’s characterization, but I have to say it was no where near as enjoyable as the first, The Lies of Locke Lamora. I originally thought that Lies was a standalone book, which heightened the intensity of the plot so much. On the other hand, Red Seas was all about the adventure, and the conclusion of the plot felt very abrupt and forced. It is also fair to say that it’s nearly impossible to compare anything to The Lies of Locke Lamora. Also, a few too many fart jokes? Was that just me?

Sequels 2

#3 – The Demon King – Cinda Williams Chima – This book was entertaining, and had plenty of the fantasy tropes that are near and dear to my heart, but it was practically all set up for the rest of the series, as it had no central conflict of its own. There are also sooo many possibilities for love triangles; the majority of my suspense surrounding the series is fear for all the love triangles that could come to be. But, I specifically wanted to give Ms. Chima credit for being adamant about and pursuing the idea of a queendom. I really like the way she is handling it.

#4 – The Runaway Queen – Cinda Williams Chima – Okay, so I must have liked it enough to read the sequel, right? Well, it was pretty much the same as The Demon King, but the plot is thickening. Again, however, there was little centralized plot to the book, just a lot of events that contribute to the series as a whole. ALSO THE LOVE TRIANGLES HAPPENED. I want to punch Raisa in the face because she makes out with l i t e r a l l y everyone. I don’t know if it’s good because she’s well developed enough for me to hate her or bad because I hate her. (I’m going to finish the series, so I guess it can’t be that bad? I’m so torn.)

I am currently reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, and the rest of my February tbr includes the remainder of the Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima and hopefully starting the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo!

XX. Shelby Jo

Weekly Goal: 5,000

Weekly Count: 206

Total Count: 12,854

Leave a Reply

