Summer Book Review

Happens at la-ast!

Surprise, surprise, I’m back. Here are some catch-up, mini reviews of all of the books I read over the summer.

#1). Pardon Me by James Roberts – This was a self-published book I read in exchange for an honest review. You can find the book on Amazon, and check out my review here.

#2). The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan – Finally, a Riordan book with a new plot arc; I thought this book was delightfully entertaining and showed far more potential than any of Riordan’s other recent work.

#3). An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – This book was engaging and fast-paced, and the world-building was so, so interesting, but I low-key hate both of the main characters. *Sorry*

#4). The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury – I was so confused by this book. I don’t even know what it was about. Love triangles and unloving parents and undeserved fate – what else is new?

#5). The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer – Laxmi Hariharan – This was a self-published book I read in exchange for an honest review. You can find the book on Amazon, and check out my review here.

#6). Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy – Reedy is such a good writer. This book flowed gorgeously, and wove in multiple themes, but ended with the plot feeling somewhat incomplete.

#7). Sketches of the Wigwam by Mack Moyer – This was a self-published book I read in exchange for an honest review. You can find the book on Amazon, and check out my review here.

#8). The Young World by Chris Weitz – I found this book funny more than anything else; it tried so hard to be aware and progressive that it became practically ridiculous.

I’m glad to get that all off my chest! Of course, I am behind on my goal, but I will make up as much as I can over the next two months and be happy with whatever I manage to accomplish.

XX. Shelby Jo

Leave a Reply

